605 Special Courts set up under the POCSO Act across the country



As reported by National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPCR), there are 605 special Courts across the country and 478 Special Public Prosecutors have since been appointed under Protection of Children from Sexual Offences (POCSO) Act, 2012. Section 44 of the POCSO Act, 2012 empowers the NCPCR and State Commission for Protection of Child Rights (CPCR) for monitoring the implementation of the provisions of this Act. Section 32 of POCSO Act provides that the State Government shall appoint a Special Public Prosecutor for every Special Court for conducting cases only under the provision of this Act. However, the Ministry has been requesting to State/UTs from time to time to implement the provisions of POCSO Act 2012.

This information was given by the Minister of Women and Child Development, Smt Maneka Sanjay Gandhi in reply to a question in the Rajya Sabha today.